

Larry Hallum Named Man of the Year

The Arvin Chamber of Commerce named Alumnus Larry Hallum as the 2011 Man of the Year. A banquet honoring Larry Hallum was held on January 22, 2011 at the Sycamore Canyon Golf Course.

Bear Booster Hall of Fame

Arvin Bear Booster Hall of Fame honored the 2010-11 inductees at their annual dinner. Those inducted were: Frank Morgan (inducted at Homecoming), Kim Handel-Welch, Mitchell True, Jim "Fizzer" Young, Mike Duncan, Joey Tarver and Steve Hallum. Congratulations to all.

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL

Academic Decathlon Team



Front l-r Cristian Montoya, Malcolm Rivera, Consuelo roman, Alexia Mendivil, Jose Zuniga,

Back l-r Rafael Ramirez, Luis Hernandez, Carlos Clemente, Joel Hurtado

Information about the Academic Decathlon team from Katherine Hays-AHS

The Academic Decathlon Team had its annual county championship on Saturday February 5, 2011. The team placed fourth overall (out of 21 teams).

Decathlon is basically eleven months of preparation for one final competition. The kids have worked very hard this year. Please congratulate them if you see them. Here's a list of the team members and the individual medals they won.

For the first time, we had a student place as an overall individual medalist. Luis Hernandez scored third overall out of all 63 students in his division. Please congratulate him on this amazing accomplishment.

Jose Zuniga - Silver medal, Music; Bronze Medal, Art; Gold Medal, Essay; Bronze Medal, Interview (and he's a sophomore competing against mostly seniors) Cristian Montoya, Joel Hurtado, Luis Hernandez - Bronze Medal, History; Silver Medal, Art; Bronze Medal, Economics; Bronze Medal, Speech; Silver Medal, Interview, and Bronze Overall. Malcolm Rivera - Silver Medal, Music; Silver Medal, History; Bronze Medal, Art (also a sophomore) Rafael Ramirez. Connie Roman, Alexia Mendivil - Gold Medal. Art Carlos Clemente - Bronze Medal, Music; Bronze Medal, Speech

Thanks to everyone who helped the kids make these awesome achievements!

Katherine

GOLDEN YEARS CELEBRATION

Jim Wren and I met at my home we are planning a Golden Years Celebration for the Arvin High School classes of the 1950's - '52, '53, '54, '55, '56, '57, '58 and '59. We have set the date for October 15, 2011. This is the same day as The Dust Bowl Days. We are planning on starting it at 3:00 PM and eating at 6:00. We don't know where we will have it but as soon as we know I will pass the word. Pass the word to your classmates and let me know if you are interested. Guests will be welcome. We will be meeting with two representatives from each year for more planning and then they will be responsible for contacting their year. We are excited about this reunion. How about you? For more information contact:

Mary Louise Durham 4316 Tretorn Avenue Bakersfield CA 93313 (661) 836-9887 <u>mdurham4@bak.rr.com</u>

Distinguished Alumni

It's time again to nominate Arvin High Alumni for the Distinguished Alumni Award.

Qualifications are:

Class year must have graduated at least 20 years preceding the nomination;

Must have outstanding accomplishment in the area of academics, arts, athletics, or <u>any</u> other areas of accomplishment.

The nominee does not have to be an AHAA member, AHAA benefactor, or a benefactor to Arvin High School.

Send Nominations to

Aruin High Alumni Association Attn: Nominating Committee P O Box 272 Aruin CA 93203

Names need to be received no later than June 30, 2011

Distinguished Alumni	
Name	Class Year
Address	
Phone #	
Email Address	
Email info to Mary Durham at mdurham4@bak.rr.com	

We The People

We the People team places 6th overall at state competition. The **Unit 1 Team** of Luis Hernandez, Julieta Figueroa, Alicia Moreno and Kimberly Chanes took highest scoring honors for Unit 1 teams.

Unit 4 Team of Alexis Cervantes, Cristine Gomez, Ruth Verduzco and Carlos Clemente were also state champions.

WE THE PEOPLE TEAMS

Unit 1 - What are the philosophical and historical foundations of the American political system?

Kimberly Chanes Luis Hernandez Alicia Moreno Julieta Figuero

Unit 2 - How did the framers create the Constitution?

Yanira Martinez Nopjira Wongvotoothai Bryan Cervantes Jose Gurolla Cecilia Vasquez

Unit 3 – How has the Constitution Been Changed to Further the Ideals Contained In the Declaration of Independence?

> Raquel Verduzco Lucero Rivera Blaine Mustoe Alfredo Marroquin Frank Clemente

Unit 4 - How Have the Values and Principles Embodied in the Constitution Shaped American Institutions and Practices?

> Alexis Cervantes Ruth Verduzco Carlos Clemente Cristine Gomez

Unit 5 - What rights does the Bill of Rights protect?

Nikki Kirkley Alejandro Guapo Ghaan Alshaif Marcelino Bautista Christian Montoya

Unit 6 – What Challenges Might Face American Constitutional Democracy in the Twenty-First Century?

> Luis Rosales Samantha Gallardo Christian Contreras Yesenia Rodriguez Anaelli Gallardo

The "We the People" Program is a national competition supported by the United States Congress to encourage seniors in American high schools to know more about the ideals and application of the American Constitution and become active in local government.



ALUMNI UPDATE

Ricky Alcala – ALL AMERICAN

Ricky is a graduate student attending Indiana University – Bloomington Ricky is working toward a Master's Degree in Athletic Administration / Sports Management.

Ricky transferred to Indiana after UC-Davis discontinued their wrestling program.

At the recent NCAA Wrestling Championships in Philadelphia

Ricky placed 5th working his way back through wrestlebacks

Coach Mares keeps in contact with Ricky and says he is doing well.

CONGRATULATIONS RICKY!!

MEETINGS

If you would like to attend our meetings they are held on the second Wednesday of the month. We usually meet at El Pueblo Restaurant in Lamont at 6:30 p.m. If you would like to help on a committee or be a representative for your class or would just like to see what's going on please come to a meeting. We need help with membership, fundraising, and the newsletter. MAKE NOTE OF THESE DATES

Homecoming – September 23

Alumni Golf Tournament – September 24

MEMORIAL

Gone but not forgotten Once again we are sorry to report the recent passing of former classmates and teachers

Kendall Risner - Class of 1955 Paul White - Class of 1965 Darlene McCraw Hamilton - Class 1968 Richard Rugnao - Class of 1968 Leona Barth Edgerle - Class of 1972 Sharon Sherrill - Class of 1979 William "Willie" Scott Lopez - Class of 2006

> Teacher Ford Luttrell